

FROM: THE NEW MEXICO BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

TO: APPLICANTS FOR LICENSURE

RE: APPLICATION/EXAMINATION/LICENSURE PROCEDURE EXAM SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES

DATE: February 6, 2025

Welcome to the New Mexico Board of Optometry. Below is a link to the Board's statutes and rules, which contain all the information you need to complete your application for exam and licensure in New Mexico. The statutes and rules can be found at:

https://www.rld.nm.gov/boards-and-commissions/individual-boards-and-commissions/optometry/statutes-rules-and-rule-hearings/

Please see the Document Checklist to assist you in keeping track of the information you have uploaded to NMPlus. The 2025 Board exam is scheduled Saturday, July 19, 2025. Depending on the number of candidates, the exam may be administered Sunday as well.

*Documentation Deadlines.

Following are the application deadlines. Failure to provide any of the required information will <u>result in the application being rejected as incomplete.</u>

- Letter of Intent, Application, Application Fee of \$175.00, and Exam Fee of \$400.00- Due on or before May 15, 2025.
- Remaining Documentation Due no later than June 9, 2025.

Prerequisite Exam Requirement - See Board Rules Part 3 and 5.

<u>Pharmaceutical Certification -</u> See Board Rule Part 7.

Schedule Notification

ALL approved applicants will be scheduled for the exam and will receive a letter notifying them of approval to sit for the exam.

Jurisprudence Exam Preparation

The exam will be based on the statutes and rules located at: https://www.srca.nm.gov/nmac-home/nmac-titles/ title-16-occupational-and-professional-licensing/chapter-16-optometric-practitioners/

Licensure

All candidates will be notified by email of the examination results. If the candidate has met all requirements, passes the Board's exam, and submits the licensure fee within 90 days of passing the exam, the candidate will be licensed to practice optometry in New Mexico.



Application and Deadline Schedule for Board of Optometry Exam on July 19, 2025

Due Date	Day of the Week Due	Application & Communication Deadlines
5/15/2025**	Thursday	Letter of Intent, Application, and application *fee of \$175 due and Clinical Skills Exam *fee of \$400 due
5/23/2025	Friday	Application status notice sent to Applicant
6/9/2025 **	Monday	Required documentation deadline to complete application
6/19/2025	Thursday	Exam notice and Clinical Skills Exam entrance card sent to confirmed Licensing Applicant
7/19/2025**	Saturday	Clinical/Practicum Skills Examination for Optometry Licensure
7/29/2025	Tuesday	Notice of pass/fail score results sent to Applicant * Passed Candidates will be required to send in a licensure fee of \$200 within 90 days of pass/fail results.

* All fees are non-refundable

** No post marks accepted on due date or thereafter. All documents must be received in the board office on or before the deadline.